Sunday, April 25, 2010

Champions League Twenty20 2010 to Take Place in South Africa

Champions League Twenty20 2010 will take place in South Africa. The news was confirmed by Lalit Modi, the chairman of this competition, following Saturday’s board meeting held at the BCCI head office. However, Modi was not present at the meeting.

Earlier, Cricket South Africa launched an invitation to organize the tournament this year and it was accepted at the board meeting. Last year, South Africa staged IPL as there was lack of security arrangements in India. In 2007, South Africa organized the inaugural twenty20 world cup. So, Cricket South Africa has the experience of staging major twenty20 events.

Champions League Twenty20 2009, the first edition of the tournament, took place in India in October last year. The tournament featured 12 teams including 3 teams from IPL. Now, the second edition of the tournament will take place in South Africa from 10 September to 26 September.

New South Wales Blues from Australia won the first Champions league twenty20 tournament in 2009. Now, let us see who wins this year’s tournament.

Related article:

The Press Association

No comments:

Post a Comment