Sunday, April 25, 2010

Chennai Super Kings is the Champion of IPL 2010

Chennai Super Kings has won the title of IPL 2010 following a 22-run victory over hot-favorite Mumbai Indians in the tournament final on Sunday. It is the first time, Chennai has won IPL title. Mumbai’s defeat broke many hearts in Mumbai who had the home advantage in the game.

Winning the toss, Chennai captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni decided to bat first. Chennai did not have a very good start as it lost 3 wickets at 67 after 11.2 overs. However, on the back of Suresh Raina’s unbeaten 57 off 35 balls, Chennai put on a competitive total of 168 runs losing 5 wickets after 20 overs. Towards the end, Dhoni and Morkel chipped in with 22 and 15 respectively.

Considering Mumbai’s batting line up, it was not a very big target. However, Mumbai got off to a bad start as opener Dhawan was removed for a duck. Both Bollinger and Ashwin bowled very well in power play, and later on Muralitharan and Jakati did not give any room to the Mumbai’s big hitting batsmen like Tendulkar, Tiwary and Duminy. Tendulkar and Nayar scored 66 runs together for the second wicket, but Mumbai middle order could not click on the day. As a result, Mumbai even could not go close to Chennai’s total. However, Pollard’s 27 runs off just 10 balls created some hope for the home side, but Mumbai’s last hope came to an end when Morkel got rid of Pollard in the penultimate over of Mumbai innings.

Tendulkar was the highest scorer for Mumbai as he fell just 2 runs short of another half century. Among the Chennai bowlers, Jakati was the most successful in terms of wickets as he got 2, while Bollinger, Morkel, Muralitharan and Raina got a wicket each.

So, congratulations to Chennai Super Kings, and good luck to Mumbai Indians for next year.

1 comment:

  1. Hi,

    Great victory, congrats chennai Super Kings.