Monday, April 26, 2010

New Zealand Squad for T20 World Cup 2010

New Zealand is always a strong team in any form of cricket game. Despite being considered as strong team, they have not won any big trophy till now. So, the upcoming ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2010 is a big challenge for them. New Zealand cricket team will try hard to win their maiden world cup trophy. Let’s hope, their dream comes true in the third edition of Twenty20 World Cup. To achieve their landmark, New Zealand selectors announced a strong 15-member squad. Here is the players’ list:

New Zealand Squad for T20 World Cup 2010: Daniel Vettori, Ross Taylor, Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Scott Styris, Jacob Oram, Aaron Redmond, Brendon McCullum, Gareth Hopkins, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Rob Nicol, Shane Bond. Tim Southee, Ian Butler.

Players on standby: Jeetan Patel, Peter Ingram, Shanan Stewart, Andy McKay, Brent Arnel, James Franklin and Peter McGlashan.

Rob Nicol, 26, is the only new face in this squad. This young player has the possibility to make his debut in the forthcoming event. He has been included depending on his domestic performance. He can play an important role as a middle order batsman and occasional offspin bowler.

New Zealand’s most important batsman Brendon McCullum is now free from wicket keeping responsibility as Gareth Hopkins has been included as the wicketkeeper in this squad. Daniel Vettori will lead the team.

Prolific all rounder, Jesse Ryder, has made his return to the squad. No doubt, it is a strong squad which can win the T20 World Cup this time.

No comments:

Post a Comment