Monday, May 24, 2010

New Zealand Squad for World Cup Football 2010

New Zealand coach Ricki Herbert has recently announced the 23-man final New Zealand squad for world cup 2010. The squad includes 6 players from foreign leagues including 5 players from English football league. Blackburn Rovers’ Ryan Nelson will lead the All Whites in world cup 2010.

This is going to be New Zealand’s only second world cup tournament after their first appearance in 1982 world cup. Coach Herbert, who represented New Zealand in 1982 tournament, is now looking to bring out some satisfactory result from South Africa after guiding New Zealand to clinch a world cup spot.

There are not many surprises in the selection of the players, except the exclusion of Aaron Scott. Herbert named 23-year-old talented midfielder Clapham who is the only uncapped player in the line up. Coach Herbert sees a big future for the Canterbury United midfielder. Defender Ivan Vicelich with 65 international matches to his credit is the highest capped member of the squad.

There are 3 goalkeepers, 7 defenders, 9 midfielders and 4 strikers in the squad. Among the defenders, there are 4 central defenders in Ben Sigmund, Winston Reid, Boyens and Nelsen. Lochhead and Tommy Smith are there for the left back position, while Vicelich can play in defense as well as in the midfield.

Interestingly, there are not many quality players to feature in the right back position, except Reid who can play in the centre as well as in the right side of the defense.

In the midfield, Herbert includes 5 central midfielders: Elliott, McGlinchey, Barron, Christie and Brown. Brockie and Bertos can be deployed with attacking role in the midfield, while Mulligan can play as a central midfielder as well as a right back. Young Clapham is capable of playing a central role as well as an attacking role in the midfield.

Rory Fallon and Middlesbrough’s Killen will lead New Zealand’s attack in world cup, while Herbert can find quality options in Smeltz and Wood.

New Zealand starts their world cup campaign on 15 June with the match against Slovakia in Group F which also includes Italy and Paraguay.

Here is the New Zealand squad for world cup 2010:




Mark Paston (Wellington Phoenix), James Bannatyne (Team Wellington), Glen Moss (Melbourne Victory)


Ben Sigmund (Wellington Phoenix), Winston Reid (FC Midtjylland), Ryan Nelsen (Blackburn Rovers), Tony Lochhead (Wellington Phoenix), Ivan Vicelich (Auckland City), Tommy Smith (Ipswich Town), Andrew Boyens (New York Red Bulls),


Simon Elliott (currently free agent), Aaron Clapham (Canterbury United), Tim Brown (Wellington Phoenix), Andy Barron (Team Wellington), Jeremy Christie (FC Tampa Bay), David Mulligan (currently free agent), Michael McGlinchey (Motherwell FC), Leo Bertos (Wellington Phoenix) Jeremy Brockie (Newcastle Jets)


Chris Killen (Middlesbrough FC), Rory Fallon (Plymouth Argyle), Shane Smeltz (Gold Coast United), Chris Wood (West Bromwich Albion)

No comments:

Post a Comment