Friday, June 11, 2010

Mexico vs South Africa Time and Live Score: World Cup Football 2010

Following a grand opening ceremony, South Africa and Mexico would face each other in the opening fixture of FIFA World Cup 2010 at the Soccer City ground in Johannesburg today (11 June). It is pretty much understandable that the 94,700-capacity stadium would not have any empty seat when the Bafana Bafana takes on the Mexicans in the Group A match.

Time
The match starts at 14:00 GMT and 16:00 local time. In Mexico, the match begins at 09:00 AM CDT (Central Daylight Time). In United States, the match kicks off in New York at 10:00 AM EDT (Eastern Daylight Time) and in California at 07:00 AM PDT (Pacific Daylight Time).

Live Score
To get the live score of the match visit the following address:

South Africa defeated Mexico 2-1 when they last met each other in the CONCACAF Gold Cup 2005. This time South Africa seems to have an inexperienced squad with Everton midfielder Steven Pienaar carrying the country’s hopes. For the opening game against Mexico, South Africa coach has decided to field the same eleven that started in the 1-0 win over Denmark recently. The line up includes just one striker in Mphela.

Mexico would feature two Premier League men Giovani dos Santos and Carlos Vela in attack alongside young Javier Hernández while Barcelona veteran Rafael Márquez would be the leading man in defense.

It could be a pressure for the South African players as there are huge expectations from them, while they could also capitalize on the home advantage. No host country in the history has ever got out of the group stage in World Cup. It is sure that South Africa would not like to be the first.

South Africa XI
Itumeleng Khune, Siboniso Gaxa, Lucas Thwala, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Bongani Khumalo, Aaron Mokoena, Kagisho Dikgacoi, Teko Modise, Steven Pienaar, Katlego Mphela, Siphiwe Tshabalala

Mexico XI
Oscar Perez, Francisco Rodriguez, Carlos Salcido, Paul Aguilar, Ricardo Osorio, Rafael Marquez, Gerardo Torrado, Giovani dos Santos, Carlos Vela, Efrain Juarez, Javier Hernandez

3 comments:

  1. South africa will defeat mexico .

    ReplyDelete
  2. Don't you mean they would LIKE to be the first?

    ReplyDelete