Thursday, July 1, 2010

Twenty20 World Cup 2014 to be Held in Bangladesh

Following an ICC board meeting held in Singapore today (1 July 2010), it has been announced that Bangladesh will host the Twenty20 World Cup 2014. Some other decisions regarding the major cricket tournaments till 2015 were also made at the meeting.

Sri Lanka will organize the Twenty20 World Cup 2012, while ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will be organized jointly by Australia and New Zealand. ICC Champions Trophy 2013 will be held in England who last year hosted the T20 World Cup 2009. ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 will take place in India.

With Bangladesh getting the hosting rights of T20 World Cup 2014, this is going to be the first time Bangladesh will host a World Cup alone. Bangladesh is one of the host countries for the 2011 ICC World Cup which will be held jointly by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Bangladesh has the previous experience of organizing ICC Champions Trophy (formerly known as mini World Cup) in 1998. The South Asian country also hosted ICC U-19 World Cup 2004, Asia Cup Cricket in 1988 and in 2000 and the final match of Asian Test Championship 1998-99. So, the tenth member of the test cricket has enough previous experience of hosting a major tournament like T20 World Cup successfully.

Meanwhile, former BCCI chief, Sharad Pawar, has been announced the new ICC president today and he would now replace outgoing president David Morgan whose two-year tenure came to an end.

1 comment:

  1. An achievement for Bangladesh, and will boost the nations morale to host similar events in future.