Sunday, August 22, 2010

Sri Lanka reaches Tri-series final after 8-wicket victory over India

The 8-wicket victory over India has helped Sri Lankan cricket team to make their place in the tri-series final. They could manage to get bonus point after clinching the victory with 209 balls remaining at hand.

No doubt, it was one of the most shameful and humiliating defeat that comes under the leading of Mahendra Singh. Perhaps is the most the disgraceful defeat for team India in the recent history.

Indian skipper, Mahendra Singh, won the toss and decided to bat first that was later proved to be a wrong decision. Coming to bat first, India scored 103 runs in 33.4 overs. Star studded Indian batting line up was dismissed cheaply by Sri Lankan seamers.

Thissara Perera led Sri Lankan bowling attack with his maiden five-wicket haul in the ODI format of cricket game. Because of his heroic contribution, Thisara Perera was awarded man of the match. Strong bowling line up did not let Indian batsmen to play big innings or make big partnership. It also can be said that Indian batsmen failed to read the mind of Sri Lankan bowlers.

India’s batting line up looked much fragile and weak. Their trouble started after their best batsman Virender Sehwag was trapped lbw by Kulasekara. Except Yuvraj Singh, neither of the batsmen could stay long. Yuvraj Singh scored 38 runs from .

Both Lasith Malinga and Nuwan Kulasekara took two wickets each. The rest of one wicket was taken by Angela Mathews.

Sri Lanka was looking for a much-needed victory to stay alive in the tournament. In reply, Sri Lanka reached the chasing target losing two openers. They scored 104 runs in 15.1 overs. Jayawardene (33) and Dilshan (35) made the task easier after making 76-run partnership in the opening stand. Upul Tharanga and Kumar Sangakkara remained not out on 12 and 13.

No comments:

Post a Comment