Thursday, September 10, 2009

Australian Squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2009

Australian selectors recently announced Australian squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2009 which begins from 22 September. The 8-team elite tournament includes all the front line test playing nations including Australia, England, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies.
Australia is the defending champion of Champions Trophy and naturally, they are the favorite in the tournament. However, their recent performance has become a major cause of concern as they do not look as formidable as they used to even two or three yeas back.
Regular captain Ricky Ponting, who is now underfire after the Ashes defeat, will lead Australia in Champions trophy. Australian batting line up includes the experienced batsmen like Ponting, Michael Clarke, Hussey, Hopes and Haddin besides the talented new batsmen like Ferguson, Voges and White .
Led by Brett Lee, Australia’s pace attack features Nathan Bracken, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Johnson and Hilfenhaus. All rounder Watson is another option for Australian pace attack. The only specialist spinner in the squad is Nathan Hauritz who is yet to make huge impact in the Australian team. He would get support from part time spinner Clarke. Overall, I think, Australia has a very good batting line up, but the spin attack does not look very promising. Their pace attack has enough quality, but lacks consistency.
Ricky Ponting (Captain), Michael Clarke, Callum Ferguson, Brad Haddin, Michael Hussey, James Hopes, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White, Ben Hilfenhaus, Nathan Bracken, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Nathan Hauritz.

No comments:

Post a Comment