Thursday, September 3, 2009

Sanjay Dutt and Salman Khan are going to have their own IPL teams

It looks like the IPL bug is getting into Bollywood actors. Recently, actor Sanjay Dutt met Lalit Modi,Commissioner, Twenty20 League, as he has become interested to get his own IPL team. Last month, news reports came out that Salman Khan, another famous Bollywood actor, approached Lalit Modi to own an IPL team. The new teams will participate in the 2010 season. Currently, there are eight IPL teams and if this deal goes down successfully then there will be ten teams in the 2010 IPL. The new teams will cost between $200 and $300 million.

Currently, there are three Indian IPL teams that are owned by Bollywood stars. Kings XI Punjab is owned Ness Wadia, Priety Zinta, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul. Kolkata Knight Rider is owned by Shahrukh Khan and Gauri Khan, Juhi Chawla and J. Mehta. Rajasthan Royals are owned by Lachlan Murdoch, Shilpa Shetty and Raj Kundra.

Related articles:

Press Trust of India

Hindustan Times

No comments:

Post a Comment