Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Bangladesh Squad for Tri Series 2010 with India and Sri Lanka

Tri-nation ODI series including India, Sri Lanka and host Bangladesh will kick off from 4th January 2010. Ahead of this upcoming triangular ODI series, Bangladeshi selectors have announced an 18-man squad. These players were named from the primary squad of 26 players. However, this time Bangladesh cricket team looks like much stronger than past.

Mashrafe Mortaza has returned back from injury. He will lead Bangladesh cricket team in this tri-nation ODI tournament. However, he had to prove his fitness to get place in the national squad. He is considered as the leading bowler in Bangladesh cricket team. However, Bangladesh had to fight five months without him. He sustained injury in September. After that he had to undergo surgery. Now, he is totally fit. The return of Mashrafe Mortaza is a big threat for the opponent teams.

Shakib Al Hasan has been selected as the vice-captain of Bangladesh cricket team. He was stand-in captain in the place of Mashrafe Mortaza when he had to stay sidelines due to his injury. However, year 2009 was a good year for Shakib Al Hasan. He led Bangladesh team to hold some big victories. Even, under his captaincy, Bangladesh won both Test and ODI series against West Indies for the first time in cricket history.

Opening batsman Tamim Iqbal has been included despite his injury. He has hurt his left hand. Selectors have kept faith on him that he will be recovered soon before the start of the tournament.

Pace bowler Shafiul Islam is the only new face in this squad. He is supposed to make his debut with the ODI format of cricket game next month. He has the experience to play only first class and list A cricket.

Left arm opener Junaid Siddique and left arm spinner Enamul Haque Jnr have been left out of the squad. Junaid Siddique is a hard hitter but not reliable opener. He could not show his impressive performance this year. Coach and selectors are not satisfied with him. Enamul Haque Jnr is a good spin bowler but it is his bad luck that he failed to get his place in Bangladesh squad.

Three former rebel players have been included in this squad for the first time after they had returned to Bangladesh from separating their relation with unauthorized Indian Cricket League (ICL). They are Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Alok Kopali. Dhiman Ghosh was supposed to make his selection but he failed.

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Mohammad Ashraful, Abdur Razzak, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal, Syed Rasel, Roqibul Hassan, Mahmud Ullah, Nazmul Hossain, Naeem Islam, Imrul Kayes, Rubel Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Alok Kopali, Shafiul Islam.

No comments:

Post a Comment