Saturday, December 26, 2009

Indian Squad for ODI Tri-Series 2010 in Bangladesh

Bangladesh will host a tri-nation series in January 2010. In this series, India and Sri Lanka will play along with host team Bangladesh. Indian selectors have already announced a 16-man squad for the upcoming tri-nation series which will kick off from 5th January 2010. They have brought some change in their squad. We can see some veteran players to be rested. Indian cricket team will have to travel without Sachin Tendulkar. He is the most prolific batsman in Indian cricket team. Sachin Tendulkar will go for rest. Rohit Sharma will replace him in this squad. Rohit Sharma has been recalled after long time.

Bowling is always a big problem for Indian cricket team. They don’t have any good pace bowler. Kolkata Knight Riders’s fast bowler Ashok Dinda has been included in this squad along with rookie leg spinner Amit Mishra. Ashok Dinda is a fast bowler. He has played only few ODI matches for Indian cricket team. Dinda has good line and length along with speed.

India’s speed star Ishant Sharma has been left out. He could not show any good performance against Sri Lanka team in both Test and ODI series. His performance could not satisfy the selectors. That is why, selectors have taken decision to rest him. However, Praveen Kumar and left arm spinner Pragyan Ojha have been left out of ODI squad which was announced for the tri-nation series.

Indian regular captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has come back after two-match ban due to his slow over rate. He will lead his team again. However, he was replaced with Dinesh Karthik against Sri Lanka. Karthik has become successful to make his place as the second alternative wicketkeeper-batsman. Virender Sehwag will be the vice-captain. Virender Sehwag is in good form. He has shown his good form against Sri Lanka. I am sure that he will get much media publicity than any other Indian batsman.

Yuvraj Singh can not take part in this tri- series because of his finger injury. He could not play the 4th ODI match in Kolkata because of his injury. As I told you that Sachin Tendulkar asked for rest for the tri-series at Bangladesh. However, Tendulkar will join in the test squad to play against Bangladesh.

Sudeep Tyagi who made his T20 debut against Sri Lanka has been included in the ODI squad. This right-arm medium fast bowler can play an important role this tournament. Sreesanth who was left out of the ODI series against Sri Lanka because of swine flu has made his place in the Test squad after he has recovered from virus.

India will start their New Year with this tri-nation series against Sri Lanka on 5th January 2010. This match will start at 08:30 GMT (15:30 local).

Indian Squad for the tri-series: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Yuvraj Singh, Sudeep Tyagi, Dinesh Karthik, Sreesanth, Ashok Dinda, Amit Mishra.



  2. Without out sachin it will be difficult for indians.