Thursday, December 31, 2009

Sri Lankan Squad in Tri Nation Series 2010

Sri Lankan selectors have announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming Tri-Nation ODI Tournament in Bangladesh next month. They have included more new players in this squad. Some senior players have been axed from the squad. We can see that selectors are depending on fresh look face for the tour series in New Year. It is clear that selectors are not satisfied with the performance of some senior players. I don’t know either it was a wise decision to bring more new players. However, it is a chance given to the fresh and energetic players to prove their quality and ability to seal the victory.

Lahiru Thirimanne is the only uncapped player in Sri Lanka team. He is left-hand batsman and right-arm medium-fast bowler. He has good performance both first class cricket and list A. It is expected that this 20-year-old batsman can play an important role as an all rounder.

However, Sri Lankan cricket team will be deprived of the service of some senior players who have been left out due to injury. They are Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Muttiah Muralitharan and Dilhara Fernando. Their absence in the national squad can affect the team performance.

Sanath Jayasuriya, Lasith Malinga and Ajantha Mendis failed to take a place in the squad because of their poor performance in the recently concluded tour series against India.

Kumar Sangakkara is the captain of Sri Lankan cricket team. He is now in good form. Sangakkara is the leading batsman with an average of 55.10. Recently, he will join Lancashire. This ODI tournament is a big challenge for them because he will have to lead some young players who have not any experience to play international match.

This triangular ODI series will kick off from 4th January 2010 against home team Bangladesh. Let us see if the home team can make any upset or not.

Sri Lanka squad: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Thilina Kandamby, Lahiru Thirimanne, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, Thissara Perera, Malinga Bandara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Suraj Randiv, Suranga Lakmal, Chanaka Welegedara.

No comments:

Post a Comment