Saturday, April 10, 2010

Bangladesh Squad for Twenty20 World Cup 2010

A 15-man squad of Bangladesh cricket team, for the upcoming ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2010, was announced by the Bangladesh Cricket Board. In this squad, only two new players have been included.

Bangladesh Squad for T20 World Cup 2010: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (Vice-Captain/WK), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Ashraful, Aftab Ahmed, Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam, Masrafe Bin Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Syed Rasel, Md. Sohrawordi, Jahirul Islam.

Shakib Al Hasan was named captain and Mushfiqur Rahim vice-captain. All rounder, Shakib Al Hasan, is one of the key players in Bangladesh cricket team. This world number one all rounder in Test cricket will have to carry a big burden this year. For the first time, he is going to lead his national team in any big tournament. Let us see how he performs as captain.

Mushfiqur Rahim is a very young but talented player in Bangladesh cricket team. He has a lot of potential. He is a wicketkeeper and good batsman in the middle order position. No doubt, he will have to play very important role if he wants to take his country in a top position.

The two new players in this squad are Jahirul Islam and Md. Sohrawardi Shuvo. Top-order batsman Jahirul Islam made his Test debut against England earlier this month. He was the highest run scorer in the first class cricket. He is capable of playing big shots. He has made his place in the squad after showing his consistent performance over the years at first-class, academy and club level of cricket game. He has been placed as an alternative opener and wicketkeeper.

Md. Sohrawardi Shuvo is an all rounder. He made his international debut against England in the recently concluded home series. It is expected that he will be an effective all rounder with the bat and ball. He was named captain of the Bangladesh U19 squad.

Fast bowler, Masrafe Bin Mortaza, and hard hitter batsman, Mohammad Ashraful, have been recalled in the national squad. Masrafe Bin Mortaza is the main bowler in Bangladesh cricket team. He is also a good batsman in the lower order position. He was out of the squad for a long time because of his injury. Since returning from injury, he played the opening ODI match against England. He is now totally fit. We will see him again in the field. His inclusion in the main squad will boost Bangladesh cricket team’s confidence.

Mohammad Ashraful is one of the most experienced players in this 15 players list. He has the experience to play the last two versions of T20 World Cup. Thinking about his experience and skill, selectors selects him. It is expected that he will regain his form in this shortest version of cricket game. You should know that Mohammad Ashraful is facing a tough time. He is not in his prime form. Because of his bad performance, he had been excluded from both Test and ODI squad against England. No doubt, he is the big hope for Bangladesh cricket fans. It will be interesting to see if he can bring some momentum in the game.

Aftab Ahmed is the only rebel player who has been selected for the upcoming T20 World Cup. Aftab Ahmed is well known for his hard hitting batting style. However, he was banned by the BCB after joining unauthorized Indian Cricket League (ICL). However, he finished his contract with ICL and return to the national cricket.

Another rebel player, Alok Kapali, could not find his place in the final squad. His exclusion from the squad made me surprise. He is very talented batsman. He played well in ICL and scored a hundred.

Bowling line up in Bangladesh cricket team looks neither good nor bad. Four pace bowlers have been chosen for this tournament. They are: Masrafe Bin Mortaza, Shafiul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Syed Rasel. Shafiul Islam played only one T20 match against New Zealand. Abdur Razzak is the only spinner in the players list. They are not good bowler but they can make strong protest against the opponent teams.

Bangladesh cricket team has been put in Group A with the defending Champion, Pakistan, and Australia. It is obviously a strong group. Fans will be waiting to see if Bangladesh cricket team can make upset against any of the two teams in group round. Bangladesh will first face Pakistan on May 1, 2010. This match will be played at the Beausejour Stadium in St Lucia.

No comments:

Post a Comment