Saturday, May 15, 2010

Australia vs England T20 World Cup 2010 Final: Time and Preview

World Champion Australia faces England in the final of the ongoing twenty20 world cup 2010 on 16 May. The match takes place at the Kensington Oval, Bridgetown in Barbados. Millions of cricket fans are eagerly waiting to see cricket’s two most traditional rivals taking on each other in the Caribbean.

The match kicks off at 11:30 local time (15:30 GMT). South Asian cricket fans are pretty much excited with the game. According to Indian time, the match begins at 21:00. In Pakistan, cricket fans can watch the match from 20:30, while In Bangladesh, the match starts at 21:30. In Sri Lanka, the match begins at 21:00.

In Australia, the match begins in Sydney and Canberra at 01:00am, in Perth at 23:00 and in Adelaide at 00:30am.

England and Australia are perhaps the oldest rivals in cricket. Cricket fans around the world always enjoy their rivalry. In fact, the first international cricket match took place between them. So, cricket fans are now expecting a highly entertaining final on Sunday.

For England, it is a chance to win a world cup title, something they could not achieve yet despite playing in the final of 3 world cup tournaments. English fans have been waiting for a world cup title over the years and it would be interesting to see if Paul Collingwood and his men can make it happen this year.

Australia, on the other hand, is the 4-time world cup champions. However, the Aussies could not yet taste the title of twenty20 world cup.

For both teams, this is their first appearance in T20 world cup final. England will be looking to continue their good run, while Australia, following their dramatic win over Pakistan, is expected to be full of confidence.

England’s performance in the group stage was not very consistent, but the English side got their rhythm back in the Super Eight as they won all of their 3 matches in Super Eight. In the semi final, England did not give any chance to Sri Lanka. Overall, England has displayed some dominating performances in the tournament. They have a number of in-form players like Kevin Pietersen, Kieswetter, Lumb, Morgan and Tim Bresnan. Any of them has the ability to put in a dominating performance and make the task easier for England against Australia

Australia is the only undefeated side in the tournament. Their players showed strong character and kept the side in winning ways. Australian pacers may have failed to continue their dominating form against Pakistan, but they could again be vital in the final.

They have some in-form batsmen in Cameron White and Michael Hussey, while their pace attack featuring Nannes, Tait, Johnson and Watson poses huge threat for the English batsmen.

Overall, it seems to be a battle between Australian pacers and English batsmen. Fans may have their favorite side, but nothing would give them more pleasure than an exciting close match.

Here are the two squads:

England Squad


Australia Squad

Ravi Bopara, Michael Lumb, Kevin Pietersen, Eoin Morgan, Craig Kieswetter (wk), Michael Yardy


Michael Clarke (c), Brad Haddin (wk), David Warner, Cameron White, Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Tim Paine (wk),

Ryan Sidebottom, Stuart Broad, James Tredwell, James Anderson, Ajmal Shahzad, Graeme Swann


Nathan Hauritz, Steven Smith, Dirk Nannes, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Tait,

Paul Collingwood (c), Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan,

All Rounder

Shane Watson, Ryan Harris, Daniel Christian

1 comment: