Saturday, June 12, 2010

India Defeated Zimbabwe by 6 Wickets in the 1st T20 2010

Following a disastrous performance in the recent Tri-nation series, Indian cricket team has clinched an easy 6 wicket win over Zimbabwe in the first of the two-match Twenty20 series on Saturday at the Harare Sports Club in Harare. Batting first, Zimbabwe could put on only 111 runs in the board, while India reached the target losing just 4 wickets with 5 overs left in hand.

Winning the toss, Suresh Raina decided to field first and his bowlers justified the decision by picking up wickets early in the Zimbabwe innings. Vinay Kumar picked up 2 early wickets. Zimbabwe fell in big trouble when Indian spinners also joined their pacers and started dominating. Ojha, Ashwin and Chawla all performed very well and that was the reason Zimbabwe lost wickets after every few overs.

Chamu Chibhabha was the highest scorer of Zimbabwe innings with 40 runs. Ervine tried to build up the innings, but his efforts went it vain when he became the first victim of Dinda. Vinay Kumar picked up 3 wickets for India, while Dinda and Ojha shared 2 wickets each.

India got off to a poor start in their chase as they lost both of their openers at 12. However, Kohli’s 21-ball 26 and Yusuf Pathan’s 37 off 27 balls guided India towards the victory. Mpofu and Price bagged 2 wickets each for Zimbabwe.

The second and the last match of the T20 series will take place at the same ground tomorrow (13 June).

No comments:

Post a Comment