Tuesday, June 22, 2010

India vs Sri Lanka Time and Live Score: Asia Cup Cricket 2010

India and Sri Lanka face each other in a dead rubber on 22 June at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Dambulla. Both sides already progressed to the tournament final after winning over Pakistan and Bangladesh. So, on pen and paper, the match has no significance.

The match starts at 09:00 GMT and 14:30 local time (Sri Lanka time). In India, cricket fans can watch the match on TV from 14:30. As per Bangladesh time, the match kicks off at 15:00.

Live Score
To get the live score of the match visit the following link:

Coming off a disappointing Zimbabwe tour, India started off pretty well in the tournament, winning the first match over Bangladesh by 6 wickets. That victory was followed by a 3-wicket win over arch-rival Pakistan.
Sri Lanka also started the tournament in the similar fashion, defeating Pakistan by 16 runs. Then the hosts clinched a dominating 126-run victory over Bangladesh.
With Tuesday’s match having apparently no importance, both sides would like to bring in some bench players who did not get enough chances so far in the tournament, and in the process, some senior players would get a necessary rest ahead of Thursday’s final at the same venue.
India would miss injured opener Virender Sehwag for the remaining two matches. Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik has been called in as his replacement. So, along with in-form opener Gautam Gambhir, Karthik would open Indian innings.
There is a possibility India would hand young batsman Saurabh Tiwary his ODI debut. Tiwary has been in impressive from recently in domestic cricket with a batting average of over 50 in first class cricket. If he plays on Tuesday, Rohit Sharma would most probably make way for him.
India could also rest Harbhajan Singh and feature off spinner Ravichandran Ashwin. There is also a slight possibility India could play two spinners with Pragyan Ojha being the second. In that case, all rounder Ravindra Jadeja would have to make way for Ojha.

Sri Lanka would also bring some changes in the squad. Spinner Muttiah Muralitharan could be rested and off spinner Suraj Randiv would take his place. In place of Thilan Samaraweera, Sri Lanka may play Kandamby. There is also a possibility pacer all rounder Farveez Maharoof would be brought in by resting Lasith Malinga.

India XI (Probable)
MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Virat Kohli, Saurabh Tiwary, Zaheer Khan, Ashok Dinda, Praveen Kumar, R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha

Sri Lanka XI (Probable)
Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chanaka Welegedera, Farveez Maharoof, Suraj Randiv

Both sides would like to go into the tournament final on the back of a victory. Sri Lanka is the defending champion and they would like to defend the title successfully in front of the home fans. India, who had some poor performances in international cricket recently, would like to boost up their confidence level by winning the tournament ahead of next year’s ICC World Cup which would be hosted jointly by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

No comments:

Post a Comment