Sunday, July 11, 2010

Diego Forlan Gets the Golden Boot as the Best Player

Diego Forlan has become the best player of FIFA World Cup 2010 and won the prestigious Golden Ball award of the tournament. Winner of this award is decided through a voting among the representatives of media. Diego Forlan clinched the top spot in the pool, leaving behind two other strong contenders Wesley Sneijder from Netherlands and David Villa from Spain.

Though Uruguay failed to reach the tournament final and clinch the third place position, the South Americans matched their success in the 1970 World Cup where they finished fourth, their second best performance in the history of World Cup. Scoring 5 goals and making 1 assist, Diego Forlan played the key role behind Uruguay’s progress to the last four of the tournament for the first time in 40 years.

Along with Luis Suarez, Forlan formed a lethal combination in attack that possessed considerable amount of threats for the opponents. Apart from Suarez and Forlan, there was no other star player in Uruguay squad. Still, they reached the semi final mainly because of Forlan’s consistent performance throughout the tournament.

Three out of his five goals came at the knock out stage including the equalizing goal in Uruguay’s quarter final victory over Ghana. The 31-year-old also scored in the semi final and the third place matches, though his team lost both the games.

Diego Forlan came into the tournament on the back of a successful season with Atletico Madrid and has effectively carried on his excellent club form in the World Cup Football 2010. Overall, the Uruguayan star really deserves to be awarded by the Golden Ball award.


  1. Very Good for Uruguay and for Forlan!! I disagree completely that Uruguay has no other stars... Diego Pérez, Fucile, Lugano are outstanding defenders and big gladiators! Also Cavani is a very good and potential striker.

  2. their second best performance in the history of World Cup?
    Word Champion 1930,1950!

  3. Atleast New world "Spain".

  4. It is indeed Uruguay’s second best performance.

    Their best performances are becoming champion in 1930 and 1950. Their second best performances are winning fourth place in 1970 and now in 2010.