Thursday, July 1, 2010

Sharad Pawar Becomes ICC President

Sharad Pawar, the former chief of BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India), has become the new president of International Cricket Council (ICC). He would now hold the position for 2 years till 2012. Outgoing president David Morgan has wished Pawar all the best in his new role at the cricket’s governing body.

David Morgan held the post since 2008 and Sharad Pawar served as the vice-president of ICC during this period. As per the ICC rule, vice-president takes over the presidency from the outgoing president.

Meanwhile, John Howard, the former Prime Minister of Australia, has been voted out for the vacant post of vice president in ICC. He was strongly backed up for the post by Australia, New Zealand and England, but 7 other test playing countries voted against him citing that Howard is an outsider when it comes to cricket and someone who was previously involved in cricket administration should be appointed ICC vice president.

Sharad Pawar is a veteran politician in India. Chief of Nationalist Congress Party, Sharad Pawar is currently the minister of Agriculture, and Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution in the government of India. He also has previous experience of serving as Defense Minister of India and Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

Besides his high political background, Sharad Pawar also has a very good background in spots administration. The 69-year-old previously held the posts of Chairman/President of Mumbai Cricket Association, Maharashtra Olympics Association, Maharashtra Wrestling Association and Maharashtra Kabbadi Association.

Sharad Pawar has become the second ever Indian to become the ICC President after Jagmohan Dalmiya who held the post from 1997 to 2000.

No comments:

Post a Comment