Saturday, January 9, 2010

star screen awards 2010 nominations: Who are there?

Though the year 2009 has been a turbulent year for Bollywood, we have seen some great movies and great performances in the end. Once again we are going to see another episode of Star Screen Awards full glitz and glamour. The Star Screen Awards is one of the most prestigious awards in the Bollywood movie industry and the only awards ceremony in India that involves the Executive Director and the Governor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The awards ceremony was initiated by Vivek Goenka, Chairman, The Express Group, in 1994.

This year, the 16th Nokia Star Screen Awards will be held at the Bandra-Kurla’s MMRDA complex in Mumbai. As usual, the show will be full of excitement and glamour with rocking performances by top Bollywood actors and actresses. This year, the show is conceptualized by Cineyug and the set was designed by Omag Kumar. The color scheme of the stage was white and gold. It contains 45 feet tall replicas of the Star Screen Awards, mosaic mirros, and wings. The total set was built within twenty two days. This year, Bollywood hero Shahid Kapoor will host the show and it will be his debut as a host. Bollywood stars including Salman Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Katrina Kaif will perform in the show. The winning team of the Dance Premiere League will choreograph the dances of Bipasha Basu and Kareena Kapoor. Bipasha Basu will do a carnival act and dance to her hit numbers. Kareena Kapoor will dance to hit numbers from Kambakkht Ishq and Kurbaan. Katrina Kaif will be performing to a catchy number from her 2009 hit romantic comedy, Ajak Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani. Shahid Kapoor, one of the best male dances in Bollywood will perform to Dhan Te Nan, the hit number of Kaminey.

Here are list of nominees in various award segment of the 16th Nokia Star Screen Award:

Best Film: 3 Idiots; Dev D; Kaminey; Love Aaj Kal; Paa.

Best Director: Anurag Kashyap (Dev D); Imtiaz Ali (Love Aaj Kal); R Balki (Paa); Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots); Vishal Bhardwaj (Kaminey).

Best Actor (Male): Aamir Khan (3 Idiots); Amitabh Bachchan (Paa); Ranbir Kapoor (Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani); Ranbir Kapoor (Rocket Singh - Salesman Of The Year); Saif Ali Khan (Love Aaj Kal); Shahid Kapoor (Kaminey).

Best Actor (Female): Deepika Padukone (Love Aaj Kal); Kareena Kapoor (3 Idiots); Katrina Kaif (New York); Priyanka Chopra (Kaminey); Priyanka Chopra (What's Your Raashee?); Vidya Balan (Paa).

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Abhimanyu Singh (Gulaal); R Madhavan (3 Idiots); Rishi Kapoor (Love Aaj Kal); Rishi Kapoor (Luck By Chance); Sharman Joshi (3 Idiots).

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Arundhati Naag (Paa); Divya Dutta (Delhi-6); Gauhar Khan (Rocket Singh - Salesman Of The Year); Neha Dhupia (Raat Gayi Baat Gayi); Shahana Goswami (Firaaq).

Best Actor in a Negative Role: Amole Gupte (Kaminey); Boman Irani (3 Idiots); Kay Kay Menon (Gulaal); Mahesh Manjrekar (Wanted); Manish Choudhary (Rocket Singh - Salesman Of The Year).

Best Actor in a Comic Role: D Santosh (Rocket Singh - Salesman Of The Year); Omi Vaidya (3 Idiots); Paresh Rawal (De Dana Dan); Sanjay Mishra (All The Best); Vinay Pathak (Raat Gayi Baat Gayi).

Best Background Music: Amit Trivedi (Dev D); Ilaiyaraja (Paa); Salim-Sulaiman – (Rocket Singh - Salesman Of The Year); Shantanu Moitra, Atul Raninga, Sanjay Wandrekar (3 Idiots); Vishal Bhardwaj (Kaminey).

Best Music: A R Rahman (Delhi-6); Pritam (Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani); Pritam (Love Aaj Kal); Pritam (Tum Mile); Vishal Bhardwaj (Kaminey).

Best Playback Singer Female: Kavita Seth - Iktara – (Wake Up Sid); Rekha Bhardwaj – Genda Phool – (Delhi-6); Shreya Ghoshal – Zoobi Doobi (3 Idiots); Shilpa Rao – Mudi Mudi – (Paa); Sunidhi Chauhan – Mere Sang (New York).

Best Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya - Emosanal Attyachaar – (Dev D); Irshad Kamil - Chor Bazari – (Love Aaj Kal); Javed Akhtar - Sapnon Se Bhare Naina (Luck By Chance); Piyush Mishra - Ranaji (Gulaal); Prasoon Joshi - Man Ko Ati Bhavey (London Dreams).

Best Story: Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots); Anurag Kashyap, Aparna Malhotra, Raj Singh Chaudhary, Sanjay Maurya (Gulaal); Imtiaz Ali (Love Aaj Kal); Nandita Das, Shuchi Kothari (Firaaq); R Balki (Paa).

Best Screenplay: Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani, Vidhu Vinod Chopra (3 Idiots); Anurag Kashyap, Vikramaditya Motwane (Dev D); Imtiaz Ali (Love Aaj Kal); Pankaj Advani (Sankat City); R Balki (Paa).

Best Dialogue: Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots); Imtiaz Ali (Love Aaj Kal); Anurag Kashyap, Vikramaditya Motwane (Dev D); R Balki (Paa); Vishal Bhardwaj (Kaminey).

Best Editing: Aarti Bajaj (Dev D); Aarti Bajaj (Love Aaj Kal); Anil Naidu (Paa); Meghna Manchanda Sen, Sreekar Prasad (Kaminey); Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots).

Best Sound: Bishwadeep Chatterjee, Nihar Ranjan Samel (3 Idiots); Dileep Subramaniam (Love Aaj Kal); Sanjay Maurya, Allwin Rego (Dev D); Shajith Koyeri, Subhash Sahu, P M Satheesh (Kaminey); Tapas Nayak (Paa).

Best Special Effects: Charles Darby (Aladin); Prime Focus Ltd (Blue).

Best Cinematography: C.K. Muraleedharan (3 Idiots); P.C. Sreeram (Paa); Rajeev Ravi (Dev D); Shankar Raman (Frozen); Tassaduq Hussain (Kaminey).

Best Art Directon: Acropolis, Rajnish Hedaa, Sumit, Snigdha Basu (3 Idiots); Sabu Cyril (Aladin); Samir Chanda (Delhi-6); Samir Chanda (Kaminey); Sukanta Panigrahy, Helen Jones (Dev D).

Best Choreography: Ahmed Khan - Prem Ki Naiiyya (Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani); Avit Dias - Aal Izz Well (3 Idiots); Bosco- Caesar - Zoobi Doobi (3 Idiots); Prasanna - Marjaani (Billu); Baawre - Vaibhavi Merchant (Luck By Chance).

Best Action: James D Bomalick (Blue); Huan-Chiu Ku (Chandni Chowk To China); Shyam Kaushal (Kaminey); Tinu Verma (Acid Factory); Vijayan Master (Wanted).

Most Promising Newcomer (Male): Amole Gupte (Kaminey); Chandan Roy Sanyal (Kaminey); Navin Kaushik (Rocket Singh - Salesman Of The Year); Omi Vaidya (3 Idiots).

Most Promising Newcomer (Female): Gauhar Khan (Rocket Singh - Salesman Of The Year); Giselle Monteiro (Love Aaj Kal); Jesse Randhawa (Gulaal); Kalki Koechlin (Dev D); Mahie Gill (Dev D).

Most Promising Debut Director: Ayan Mukerji (Wake Up Sid); Nandita Das (Firaaq); Pankaj Advani (Sankat City); Shivajee Chandrabhushan (Frozen); Zoya Akhtar (Luck By Chance).

Best Child Artiste: Jahan Bativala (Little Zizou); Iyanah Bativala (Little Zizou); Rahul Kumar (3 Idiots); Parzan Dastur (Sikandar); Pratik Katare (Paa).

Best Ensemble Cast: Delhi-6; Firaaq; Gulaal; Luck By Chance; Sankat City.

Related articles:

Bollywood Hungama

Screen India

The Financial Express


  1. where are the male singers??

  2. the star screen awards this time round were rocking good

    i somehow wonder howcome everytime they manage to get something new and out of the block and tht too so much entertaining...
    And this time round they had SRK and Shahid... nothing but the best

    Hats off to the architect of the Star Screen Awards

    btw i heard thta some of the awards are fake and are sold for CAsh... Is that true???