Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Squad of South Africa for World Cup Football 2010

South Africa coach Carlos Alberto Parreira, the former coach of Brazil national team, has announced the preliminary squad for the world cup 2010 which starts from June 11. As a home team, there is a huge expectation from South Africa who have become the first African country to host FIFA World Cup. South Africa did not have to take part in the qualifying tournament as they got the automatic qualification to the world cup as the host country. South Africa was drawn in Group A alongside Mexico, Uruguay and France and will play their first match against Mexico on 11 June.

Parreira announced 29 players in the provisional squad. Out of 29 players announced in the provisional squad, 9 players play their club football in other countries including Germany, England, Greece, Netherlands and Israel. There are 4 goalkeepers, 10 defenders, 11 midfielders and 4 strikers named in the preliminary squad for world cup 2010. Portsmouth defender Aaron Mokoena is the most experienced player in the squad with 99 caps to his name and West Ham United striker Benni McCarthy is the highest scorer in the squad with 35 goals.

Coach Carlos Alberto Parreira, who guided Brazil to win the 1994 world cup in the US, is now worried about the exhausted South African players who have just come back after finishing their demanding their club duties. Moreover, he admitted that making the combination between the players from South African league and players from foreign leagues would be the toughest part of world cup preparation.

South Africa will play 3 friendly matches against Bulgaria, Colombia and Denmark. Here, I am giving the names of the 29 players named in the preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Rowen Fernandez (Arminia Bielefeld/ Germany), Shu-Aib Walters (Maritzburg United/ S. Africa), Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs, S. Africa), Moeneeb Josephs (Orlando Pirates/ S. Africa)

Defenders: Aaron Mokoena (Portsmouth/ England), Bryce Moon (PAOK F.C./ Greece), Tsepo Masilela (Maccabi Haifa/ Israel), Anele Ngcongca (Mamelodi Sundowns/ S. Africa), Matthew Booth (Mamelodi Sundowns/ S. Africa), Siboniso Gaxa (Mamelodi Sundowns/ S. Africa), Innocent Mdledle (Mamelodi Sundowns/ S. Africa), Bongani Khumalo (Supersport United/ S. Africa), Siyabonga Sangweni (Golden Arrows/ S. Africa), Lucas Thwala (Orlando Pirates/ S. Africa)

Midfielders: Steven Pienaar (Everton/ England), MacBeth Sibaya (Rubin Kazan/ Russia),Franklin Cale (Mamelodi Sundowns/ S. Africa), Surprise Moriri (Mamelodi Sundowns/ S. Africa), Lebohang Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns/ S. Africa), Lance Davids (Ajax Cape Town. S. Africa), Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates/ S. Africa), Andile Jali (Orlando Pirates/ S. Africa), Thanduyise Khuboni (Golden Arrows/ S. Africa), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs/ S. Africa), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs/ S. Africa)

Strikers: Benni McCarthy (West Ham United/ England), Bernard Parker (FC Twente/ Netherlands), Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns/ S. Africa), Siyabonga Nomvethe (Moroka Swallows/ S. Africa)

1 comment:

  1. I agree with u that benni mcarthy should of been included in the squad but who is bernard parker,ive never heard of him,you should of put miroslav kovac in it eventhough he is not south africabn, he is czech republic.I think south africa have got a CHANCE OF WINNING it and i hope they doo.