Friday, August 20, 2010

Graeme Swann is in the competition for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award

Despite his initial exclusion, the name of English off spinner, Graeme Swann, has been included in the list of nomination announced for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award. This prestigious awards ceremony will take place in Bengalooru on October 6, 2010.

Cricket governing body said that Swann’s early omission from the list was a genuine mistake. His exclusion from the list of 16 candidates surprised both England players and supporters. Former and current players along with media have criticized Swann’s omission from the list.

Becoming the top three of the Test bowling ranking, he ended the international cricketing year with taking 49 test wickets at an average of 27.55 and 28 one-day wickets at 23.

Besides Graeme Swann, there is another English bowler, James Anderson, who has been shortlisted for the Test player of the year award.

On the other hand, Tim Bresnan and Eoin Morgan have been shortlisted as Emerging Player of the year.

Chaired by the former West Indian captain and current chairman, Clive Lloyd, five men were chosen for the ICC selection panel. It also sees the inclusion of Angus Fraser, Matthew Hayden, Ravi Shastri and the former England coach, Duncan Fletcher, in the selection panel.

This year-long nomination list start voting from August 24, 2009 to August 10, 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment